Version for the visually impaired
Color scheme:
Font size:
Image:
Effects:

When changing the color scheme, the effects will be automatically disabled

Version for the visually impaired
Color scheme:
Font size:
Image:
Effects:

When changing the color scheme, the effects will be automatically disabled

Travel portal
Nizhny Novgorod region
Nizhny Novgorod is the capital of sunsets Sunset at 20:27

Diveevo

The village of Diveevo is an important spiritual centre for the Nizhny Novgorod region, and an essential element of the Orthodox pilgrimage in Russia. You cannot make the trip to Diveevo without visiting the Serafimo-Diveevsky Convent, which can be viewed as an entire quarter in itself, with numerous temples, chapels and shrines. Even if you are going there just as a tourist, rather than a pilgrim, you will see amazing architecture, ancient frescoes, beautiful gardens, and many other interesting things, and most importantly you will feel that very serenity which can be so lacking in a bustling metropolis.

A FEW FACTS

The land of Nogai Murza
The land of Nogai Murza
The village of Diveevo first emerged in 1559, and there are several versions as to the origins of its name. According to the most common version, the village was named after its first owner, Nogai Murza Divey, who received these lands after a successful campaign against the Kazan Khanate.
A crossroads of pilgrimage routes
A crossroads of pilgrimage routes
The village was located at the intersection of different pilgrimage routes, and travellers who went to the Sarov monastery could find shelter and rest here. In 1767, one of the itinerants, Agafya Melgunova, started building a stone temple at Diveevo in honour of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God.
In memory of Seraphim of Sarov
In memory of Seraphim of Sarov
15 kilometres from Diveevo, where the closed city of Sarov is now located, was the Sarov Desert monastery, where one of the most revered of all Russian saints, Seraphim of Sarov, lived in seclusion. It is said that in 1830 the great poet Alexander Pushkin came to visit the elder.
The Sacred Moat
The Sacred Moat
After emerging from his seclusion, Seraphim of Sarov took the convent in Diveevo under his care. Legend has it that the Virgin Mary appeared to the monk in a vision, walked around the monastery, and ordered him to found a mill community next to the Kazan Church, and to surround this place with a ditch and rampart. This is how the famous Moat appeared, which came to be one of the main shrines of the monastery. According to Seraphim, the Moat will always be a wall and protection from the Antichrist.
The destiny of the Holy Virgin
The destiny of the Holy Virgin
According to Christian beliefs, the Holy Trinity Seraphimo-Diveevsky Monastery is one of the four destinies of the Holy Virgin, that is, a place which is under her special protection. The three others are located in Georgia, on Mount Athos, and in Kiev.
Ancient holy springs
Ancient holy springs
There are several springs in Diveevo: the most ancient being the Spring of Kazan, the Spring of Panteleimon the Healer, the Spring of Mother Alexandra, and the Iversky Spring. The most revered of all is the distant spring of Father Seraphim, which is located nearby the village of Tsyganovka.

WHAT TO DO IN THE CITY

01
Contact the Pilgrimage Centre
If this is your first time in Diveevo, and you do not yet have a good understanding of the appeal of each of the temples, where you can take a break, and where the shrines are, start by contacting the Pilgrimage Centre. There you can book excursions, arrange accommodation in the monastery building, and receive answers to all your questions.
02
Pay heed to the traditions
Even if you are visiting the monastery as a tourist, do not forget that special rules of conduct prevail here, and a dress code is required: behave modestly, do not swear, women should wear long skirts and have their heads covered, and men should not come wearing shorts or T-shirts.
03
Take a sightseeing tour of the temples and shrines
Now you can start exploring the temples of the monastery, among which there are only four cathedrals: go to the oldest, the Kazan Church, built in the Russian Baroque style in 1773, where you can see the ancient frescoes created by the Diveevo nuns. Then head to the main Cathedral of the Trinity, where the relics of St. Seraphim of Sarov are kept, and finally to the white-stone Church of the Transfiguration, which is inspired by ancient Russian architecture.
04
Walk along the Holy Moat
Next to the Cathedral of the Transfiguration you will find the starting point of the Holy Moat, whose length along its axis 775 metres! It is believed that whoever walks along it reading the prayer "Virgin Mary, Rejoice" 150 times, is promised "all of Athos, Kiev, and Jerusalem", or in other words, deliverance from all kinds of sorrows. In any case, this is a real sightseeing tour of the monastery, during which you will see it in all its beauty!
05
Relax by the larch tree
Not far from the end of the Moat (where, incidentally, consecrated butter and crackers are handed), there grows a larch tree which, as legend has it, was planted by Emperor Nicholas II himself when his heir, Tsarevich Alexei, was born. There is a chapel there, and you can also relax on a bench next to the former monastery pond.
06
Have lunch in the refectory
If you are hungry, you can have lunch in the refectories, which include a free tea room or cafe at the Pilgrim's House. Alternatively, you can buy crackers, rolls or kvass at the shop, which you can also bring home as a souvenir. We also recommend you try the Russian cuisine in one of the restaurants at the Diveevskaya Sloboda hotel complex, the Malinovy Zvon (“The Raspberry Bell”) or Razdolye ("Expanse").
07
Visit the museums
Once you have acquainted yourself with all of the cathedrals, you can move on to the museums: start with the house-museum of Paraskeva the Blessed, or the "pustynka": the lonely cell for the Diveevo ascetics, where the furnishings of the ancient dwelling of Paraskeva and the other nuns have been preserved, and where you can also see the personal belongings of St. Seraphim. You can learn about how Diveevo’s nuns and priests lived in the post-revolutionary period at the Museum of the History of the Diveevo Monastery in the 20th century.
08
Inspire yourself with a Diveevo toy
RIght there, on Oktyabrskaya Street, is the Diveevo Toys and Ceramics Museum: a new phenomenon, but a very curious one. Here you can cast your eye over a unique collection of these clay toys in the form of animals, birds and other fabulous creatures.
09
Take a dip in the holy springs
A great end to your trip to Diveevo will be bathing in the holy springs, of which there are many near the monastery, the most famous among them being the Spring of Kazan, the Spring of Panteleimon the Healer, and the Tenderness spring in honour of the Mother of God. A lot of pilgrims come there, and with good reason: it is a beautiful setting with a large swimming pool and baths, as well as a wonderful view of the monastery.

WHERE TO GO AND WHAT TO SEE

The Holy Trinity Serafimo-Diveevsky Monastery
Diveevo Village, Sovetskaya St.

One of Russia’s largest monasteries and centres of Orthodox pilgrimage and tourism, founded in the second half of the 18th century.

Working hours
Daily, 05:00-22:00
The Pilgrimage Centre
Diveevo Village, Oktyabrskaya St.

An information centre where you can book excursions, arrange accommodation in the monastery building, and get answers to all your questions about the work of the monastery.

The Cathedral of the Holy Trinity
Diveevo Village, in the grounds of the Holy Trinity Seraphimo-Diveevsky Monastery

The main temple of the Diveevsky monastery complex, where the relics of St. Seraphim of Sarov are kept.

The Kazan Cathedral
Diveevo Village, in the grounds of the Holy Trinity Seraphimo-Diveevsky Monastery

A three-altar church built in 1779 in the Russian Baroque style, where ancient frescoes made by the craftsmen of Diveevo have been preserved.

The Moat of the Mother of God
Diveevo Village, in the grounds of the Holy Trinity Seraphimo-Diveevsky Monastery

The Holy Moat around the monastery, almost 800 metres long, was dug at the direction of the Virgin Mary.

The Monument to the Royal Family
Diveevo Village, 9 Shkolnaya St.

A 3.5-meter-high bronze monument installed on the Cathedral Square of the Serafimo-Diveevsky Monastery

The Cathedral of the Transfiguration
Diveevo Village, in the grounds of the Holy Trinity Seraphimo-Diveevsky Monastery

A cathedral dating to the beginning of the 20th century, built in the neo-Russian style.

The larch of Tsarevich Alexei
Diveevo, near the Holy Moat

A huge larch tree, which legend has it was planted by Emperor Nicholas II himself in 1905 in honour of the birth of his heir.

House-Museum of Paraskeva Diveevskaya the Blessed
Diveevo Village, 8 Oktyabrskaya St.

A museum dedicated to the pre-revolutionary history of the monastery, where the personal belongings of St. Seraphim and the veil embroidered by Empress Alexandra Romanova are on display.

Working hours
Monday-Friday 12:00-15:00, Saturday 09:00-16:00
Museum of the History of the Diveevsky monastery in the 20th century
Diveevo village, 23 Oktyabrskaya Str.

A museum where you can learn about the fate of Diveevo clergy after the closure of the monastery in 1927, see their personal belongings, and visit the reconstructed living chambers.

Dolgintsev’s house
Diveevo Village, in the grounds of the Holy Trinity Seraphimo-Diveevsky Monastery

A house dating to the beginning of the 20th century, which belonged to the monastery’s benefactor, Fyodor Dolgintsev, whose daughter became one of its novices.

The Diveevo Toys and Ceramics Museum
Diveevo village, 16 Oktyabrskaya St.

Here you can see a large collection of pottery in the form of animals, birds and fabulous creatures.

Working hours
Tuesday-Sunday 09:30-15:30
The source of St. Panteleimon
Diveevo village, Rodnikovaya St.

A spring that appeared at the end of the 20th century, where you can plunge into the font with its healing water.

How to get there

Настройки для слабовидящих
Цветовая схема:
Размер шрифта:
Изображения:
Эффекты:

При изменении цветовой схемы эффекты будут автоматически отключены

Настройки для слабовидящих
Цветовая схема:
Размер шрифта:
Изображения:
Эффекты:

При изменении цветовой схемы эффекты будут автоматически отключены

Туристический портал
Нижегородской области
Нижний — столица закатов Закат в 20:24

Дивеево

Село Дивеево — важный духовный центр Нижегородской области, без которого не обходится православное паломничество по России. Невозможно съездить в Дивеево, не посетив Серафимо-Дивеевский женский монастырь, который можно считать целым кварталом с множеством храмов, часовен и святынь. Даже если вы направляетесь туда как турист, а не паломник, вы увидите там удивительную архитектуру, старинные фрески, прекрасные сады и много чего интересного, а главное — почувствуете ту самую безмятежность, которой может так не хватать в шумном мегаполисе.

Несколько фактов

Земля ногайского мурзы
Земля ногайского мурзы
Село Дивеево возникло в 1559 году и есть несколько версий происхождения его названия — по самой распространенной версии село назвали по имени его первого владельца, ногайского мурзы Дивея, который получил эти земли после удачного похода на Казань.
Пересечение паломнических дорог
Пересечение паломнических дорог
Село располагалось на пересечении паломнических дорог и путники, которые шли в Саровский монастырь, могли найти здесь приют и отдых. В 1767 году одна из странниц, Агафья Мельгунова, начала строить в Дивееве каменный храм в честь Казанской иконы Божией Матери.
Память о Серафиме Саровском
Память о Серафиме Саровском
В 15 километрах от Дивеева, где сейчас находится закрытый город Саров, находилась Саровская пустынь, где в затворничестве жил один из самых почитаемых русских святых — Серафим Саровский. Рассказывают, что в 1830 году к старцу приезжал великий поэт Александр Пушкин.
Святая Канавка
Святая Канавка
После выхода из затворничества, Серафим Саровский взял под свою опеку женский монастырь в Дивееве — по преданию, Богородица явилась преподобному, обошла вокруг обители, и повелела рядом с Казанской церковью основать Мельничную общину и обнести это место канавой и валом. Так и появилась знаменитая Канавка, одна из главных святынь монастыря — по словам Серафима Канавка всегда будет стеной и защитой от антихриста.
Удел Святой Богородицы
Удел Святой Богородицы
Согласно христианским верованиям, Свято-Троицкий Серафимо-Дивеевский монастырь — это один из четырех уделов Святой Богородицы, то есть, место, которое находится под ее особым покровительством. Три других находятся в Грузии, на Афоне и в Киеве.
Древние святые источники
Древние святые источники
В Дивееве проистекают несколько источников: самый древний Казанский, Целителя Пантелеимона, Матушки Александры и Иверский. Наиболее чтимым считается дальний источник Батюшки Серафима — он находится у поселка Цыгановка.

Чем заняться

01
Обратиться в Паломнический центр
Если вы впервые в Дивееве и плохо разбираетесь, чем привлекателен каждый из храмов, где можно отдохнуть, и где какие святыни, сначала обратитесь в Паломнический центр. Там вы сможете заказать экскурсии, оформить проживание в монастырском корпусе и получить ответы на все вопросы.
02
Не забудьте о традициях
Даже если вы посещаете монастырь как турист, не забывайте, что здесь царят особые правила поведения и требуется дресс-код: вести себя скромно, не сквернословить, женщинам быть с покрытой головой и в длинных юбках, а мужчинам не приходить в шортах или майках.
03
Совершите обзорную экскурсию по храмам и святыням
Дальше можно начать знакомство с храмами монастыря, среди которых одних только соборов четыре: отправляйтесь к самому древнему, Казанскому храму в стиле русского барокко, основанному в 1773 году — там вы увидите старинные фрески, созданные дивеевскими сестрами. После него отправляйтесь в Троицкий, главный собор, где хранятся мощи преподобного Серафима Саровского, а потом — в белокаменный Преображенский храм, вдохновленный древнерусским зодчеством.
04
Пройдите по святой Канавке
Рядом с Преображенским собором проходит начало святой Канавки, длина которой по оси рва — 775 метров! Считается, что кто совершит по ней прогулку, читая молитву «Богородица Дево, Радуйся» 150 раз, тому обещают «и Афон, и Киев, и Иерусалим», то есть избавление от всяческих печалей. В любом случае, это настоящая обзорная экскурсия по территории монастыря, во время которой вам повстречаются все его красоты!
05
Отдохните у лиственницы
Недалеко от конца Канавки (где, кстати, раздают освященное масло и сухари) растет лиственница, которую по преданию посадил сам император Николай II, когда у него появился наследник, царевич Алексей. Там находится часовня, а еще можно отдохнуть на лавочке рядом с бывшим монастырским прудом.
06
Пообедайте в трапезной
Если вы проголодались, пообедать можно в трапезных, в том числе бесплатной, чайной или кафе при Доме паломника, либо купить в лавке сухари, булки или квас, которые также можно привезти домой в качестве сувенира. Также советуем зайти отведать русской кухни в один из ресторанов при гостиничном комплексе «Дивеевская Слобода»: «Малиновый звон» или «Раздолье».
07
Посетить музеи
Если со всеми соборами вы уже познакомились, отправляйтесь в музеи: начинайте с дома-музея блаженной Параскевы, или «пустыньки» — одинокой кельи дивеевских подвижниц, где сохранилась обстановка старинного жилья блаженной и других сестер, там же можно увидеть личные вещи преподобного Серафима. Узнать о том, как жили дивеевские монахини и священники в послереволюционное время, можно в музее истории дивеевской обители XX века.
08
Вдохновиться дивеевской игрушкой
Там же, на Октябрьской улице, находится музей дивеевской игрушки и керамики — явления нового, но очень любопытного: здесь можно увидеть уникальную коллекцию этих глиняных игрушек в виде животных, птиц и других сказочных существ.
09
Искупаться в святых источниках
Хорошим завершением поездки в Дивеево будет купание в святых источниках, которых рядом с монастырем немало, самые известные среди них — это Казанский, Пантелеимоновский и в честь иконы Божией Матери «Умиление». Туда съезжается множество паломников, и это неспроста: там отличное благоустройство, есть большой бассейн и купальни, а также открывается замечательный вид на монастырь.

Куда сходить и на что посмотреть

Свято-Троицкий Серафимо-Дивеевский монастырь
с. Дивеево, ул. Советская

Один из крупнейших женских монастырей и центров православного паломничества и туризма, основанный во второй половине XVIII века.

Режим работы
Ежедневно, 05:00-22:00
Паломнический центр
с. Дивеево, ул. Октябрьская

Информационный центр, где можно заказать экскурсии, оформить проживание в монастырском корпусе и получить ответы на любые вопросы о работе монастыря.

Свято-Троицкий собор
с. Дивеево, территория Свято-Троицкого Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Главный храм Дивеевского монастыря, в котором хранятся мощи преподобного Серафима Саровского. с. Дивеево, территория Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Казанский собор
с. Дивеево, территория Свято-Троицкого Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Трехпрестольный храм, построенный в 1779 году в стиле русского барокко, где сохранились старинные фрески, выполненные дивеевскими мастерицами. с. Дивеево, территория Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Канавка Божией Матери
с. Дивеево, территория Свято-Троицкого Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Святая Канавка вокруг монастыря, длиной почти 800 метров, выкопанная по указанию Богородицы. с. Дивеево, территория Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Памятник царской семье
с. Дивеево, ул. Школьная 9

Бронзовый монумент высотой 3,5 метра, установленный на Соборной площади Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря. с. Дивеево, территория Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Благовещенский собор
с. Дивеево, ул. Советская 17А

Собор, строительство которого было предсказано преподобным Серафимом Саровским, полностью покрытый мозаикой на библейские сюжеты. с. Дивеево, территория Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Преображенский собор
с. Дивеево, территория Свято-Троицкого Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Собор начала XX века, выполненный в неорусском стиле. с. Дивеево, территория Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Лиственница Царевича Алексея
с. Дивеево, канавка Царицы Небесной

Огромная лиственница, которую, по преданию, посадил сам император Николай II в 1905 году в честь появления наследника. с. Дивеево, территория Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Дом-музей блаженной Параскевы Дивеевской
с. Дивеево, ул. Октябрьская, 8

Музей дореволюционной истории монастыря, где представлены личные вещи преподобного Серафима и покрывало, вышитое императрицей Александрой Романовой.

Режим работы
Понедельник-пятница 12:00-15:00, суббота 09:00-16:00
+7 (8313) 44-39-63, gid@diveevo-palomnik.ru
Музей истории Дивеевского монастыря XX века
с. Дивеево, ул. Октябрьская, 23

Музей, где можно узнать о судьбах дивеевских священнослужителей после закрытия монастыря в 1927 году, увидеть их личные вещи и посетить реконструкции покоев.

Дом Долгинцевой
с. Дивеево, территория Серафимо-Дивеевского монастыря

Дом начала XX века, принадлежавший благотворителю монастыря Федору Долгинцеву, дочь которого стала одной из его послушниц.

Музей дивеевской игрушки и керамики
с. Дивеево, ул. Октябрьская, 16

Здесь можно увидеть большую коллекцию глиняных изделий в виде животных, птиц и сказочных существ.

Режим работы
Вторник-воскресенье 09:30-15:30
+7 (996) 010-82-45
Источник святого Пантелеймона
с. Дивеево, ул. Родниковая

Источник, который появился в конце XX века, где можно окунуться в купели с целебной водой.

Как добраться